Be Here Now

There is a wonderful sense of being when you become consciously aware
of the moments in which you live.
Taking the time to focus on having each one as good as it can be, will
help you achieve the greatness you seek.

You see each moment we have a choice.  In fact, we have many choices
we can make in any given moment.  We choose:

With whom we will spend it
What we will do
What we will allow to make it good or bad
How long we will be impacted by it

The goal in life is to have as many good moments as possible.  That is
accomplished by not only focussing on good and recognizing it when it
happens, but by mitigating the bad as well.

Let’s be straight, bad will happen.  It does so often.  The key isn’t
whether or not bad happens, its how you allow it to impact you.  The
quicker you can get to a place of accepting it and figuring out how to
effectively deal with the bad, the more you mitigate the effect of it
on you.

Interestingly, good is everywhere you look.  We are so accustomed to
natural beauty that we hardly even notice it.   When was last time you
sat in a place that was quiet enough to hear six birds singing at the
same time?  How often do you watch the sun set or rise with the
appropriate level of awe?  Do you appreciate the beauty of the minds
that influence you daily in the architecture and engineering you see,
the music you hear, the food you taste and how it is all there for you
now ?

We live in times that are simultaneously wonderful and challenging.
For the most part, we have every ability to control which of the two
types of times we will have.  If you truly live in the now, you can
change how you feel quickly.   There will even be times when you will
feel good about feeling bad.

I want you to feel good often and I want you to feel good now.   What
do you need to have in order to do so?  Be sure to tell someone.

BYBY (be your best you)

3 Responses to “Be Here Now”


  1. 1 Bjorn Olson Tuesday, July 8 at 2:47 am

    I not only agree with being in the moment, I strongly suggest that we go out of our away to stop and smell the roses.

    This weekend, a long weekend due to the holiday, at about 2pm each day my wife and 2yr old went down for a nap – of about 2 hours or so. The first two days, I used that time to go rollerblading. High impact music in my headphones, new expensive blades with oversized wheels with professionally FAST bearings. I was a rocket. I started the trip both days with an energy drink. Needless to say, I was NOT focused on the moment necessarily. The moment lasted almost two hours, but seemed like only 10 minutes. I was focused on the ‘next’ big obstacle (car, dirt, people, Terry’s house on the peninsula, etc.) I was on a 2 hour high. Action packed. Full of adventure. It was a blast.

    The third day, I had a decision to make: skate again (and I don’t really get to go as much as I’d like), or other activity. I chose to take a very lazy-dazy Sunday drive on my road bike. No headphones. I did not seek speed, attention, obstacles, or anything of that nature. I sought out the sounds of the world around me. I sought out the thoughts inside my head that are usually pushed way way down under the noise of my over caffeinated, over busy, over committed chosen lifestyle. The 90 minutes on my bike was by far the most refreshing, yet exhillerating (in it’s own way) portion of the weekend. I gave myself permission to look around me, listen, and meditate on whatever I wanted to (God, family, career, or whatever).

    For those of you who make this type of activity a regular part of your day, (or week, or month), I commend you. It’s something that I am choosing to do MORE. I consider Terry’s article above an important reminder that we choose how we respond to the moment we are in.

    Bjorn Olson

  2. 2 Karen Swim Thursday, July 10 at 1:13 pm

    Terry, your words are absolutely truly. Every single moment is a gift, a blessing to be fully appreciated and savored. So often our gratitude is lost in the hustle and bustle of life. My appreciation for the mundane, the quiet, the simple has grown immeasurably as I have lived more life, and endured more challenges. The more miles on the road you have the better you understand the absolute miracle it takes to get from point A to point B. Thank you for your inspiration today. I hope that many will read and apply.

  3. 3 Steve Tylock Friday, July 11 at 12:56 pm

    Terry,

    Let me offer my “for fun” activity as one way to get in tune with yourself and the outdoors – orienteering.

    Picture yourself holding a map of your favorite park and a course of a dozen locations set out for you – get to each of those spots in order and return to the start. Take a compass to keep on track, and dress appropriately.

    You want to take the trails – fine. You think cutting through that section of the woods will make it shorter – great;-) Do you go around that hill, or over it? Just what is that squiggly marking on the map indicate – better look it up for next time… How fast – whatever speed you feel comfortable with. (but it is a race;-)

    Some time later – after a good workout – you’ll get back to the start, rejoin civilization, have a snack, and look back on the decisions you made.

    No matter where you are, you should be able to find a local group holding events.

    If you try it out, I’d love to hear back about your experience;-)

    steve


Leave a Reply

