Are you connected to self? The first degree

My license plate reads “NOWHOUR”. In hindste, it’s a great reminder that NOW is the only time we have that is truly ours to do with as we please. However, the original intent was NO Who U R. One of the fundamentals of living a great life is to simply do that. Know Who You Are.

The knowledge derived from that will allow you so many options, so much freedom and ultimately so much joy. Too many of us don’t take the time to connect with ourselves and understand who we really are. Think of the people you know who aren’t as happy as they could be. Maybe they don’t like their job, or their spouse or they often compain about the mundane in their lives. Do you ever listen to them and think, man, am I glad I don’t feel that way about me??

I find that most folks who have these issues aren’t really happy with themselves. Generally when we aren’t happy with us, we have made the true effort to really get to know ourselves. What makes us tick? Where do our passions lie? How do we exploit those passions and live the life we deserve?

If you don’t feel like you are on your way to greatness, ask yourself some questions:

  • What 5 activities make me happy?
  • How would I most enjoy spending my time?
  • If pay wasn’t a concern, what sort of job would I have?
  • Where do the needs of the world and my talents intersect?
  • What are my 3 greatest strengths?

Some people have instant answers to these questions. Others, not so much. What are your answers?

If you don’t have any, it’s time to get really quiet and really honest with yourself. Start asking the questions. Find a quiet place and contemplate answers. You may be surprised. If you are wondering when would be a good time to start, think NOWHOUR!

3 Responses to “Are you connected to self? The first degree”


  1. 1 Victoria Friday, September 19 at 5:43 am

    ugh, I have all the answers, but they don’t align with what I am doing…

  2. 2 trybean Tuesday, September 23 at 10:53 am

    That’s an interesting statement. I have found that alignment changes quickly. Sometimes when it seems like we are out of alignment, we just didn’t have the right expectation. Any chance of that?

    What three things would have to change for you to feel like you were in alignment?

  3. 3 Shauna Nicholson Wednesday, October 8 at 5:24 pm

    Terry,
    I’m reading this post for the first time today–Thank you.

    It helps to re-center and take a step back.

    🙂
    Shauna


Leave a Reply

