Have you thanked a Veteran today?

I am surrounded by many great men and women. Interestingly, the ones I hold in highest esteem are the ones that go above and beyond the call of duty. Have you noticed that common thread in the people you know who have served our country?

Although today is formally Veteran’s day and one of two special days for those who have served, I think it’s important to recognize these great men and women every chance we have.

I had the good fortune of havning a Vietnam Vet as a fraternity brother in college (haha, he was an alumni at the time). I remember talking to him for hours about his experience both there and when he returned. Much to my chagrin he made a pretty persuasive argument suggesting that his return home was far less welcoming and more challening than his time there. At one point, he invited me to a party that all about his “brothers”. (The significance of that gesture is hitting me more as I type this than it did then). I remember following his advice and simply saying two things to these great people: “Thank you” and “Welcome home”. It was the latter that had the greatest impact.

Whether you served in a “war” that everyone supported, during peace time or a “conflict” that even you weren’t sure why you were doing it, I have 5 words for you:

Thank you and Welcome Home.

This message is dedicated to my cousin: Chris Hart and my fraternity brother: Jimmy Wade

and to my friends: Dave Biskner, Bjorn Olson, Mike Burba, Brad Tousignant, Rob Cowan, Troy Bloomquist. Scott Ferguson and the many, many others that have given so much of themselves.

Stay Connected-

Terry Bean

2 Responses to “Have you thanked a Veteran today?”


  1. 1 Dave Biskner Wednesday, November 12 at 3:17 am

    Thanks, Mr. Bean. We did it for people like you.

  2. 2 Eric Brown Saturday, November 15 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks for putting some focus on Veterans Day Terry. I happened to be flying Southwest on Tuesday, and they allowed any Vet to board first and deplane first. Everyone clapped and cheered. Just a little think, but it was pretty cool.


Leave a Reply

