7 things you may not know about me

Unlike my friend  Ken Burbary who suggested I do this, I had ZERO idea that this was the new MEME busting through the internet. I got tagged last week and am a little slow in responding, but respond I did. In the meantime, this meme has made it’s way to Motor City Connect and you can learn about a bunch of people here.

Here are the rules for my fellow bloggers:

  • Link your original tagger(s), and list these rules on your blog.
  • Share seven facts about yourself in the post – some random, some weird.
  • Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
  • Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs and/or Twitter.

5 I just finished finished writing this and fat fingered the keyboard. It took me to another web page and I lost the entire post. I do this at least once a month and still remain in good spirits.

1. I am an urban cowboy. If we run into each other you will likely see me wearing cowboy boots. I have two pair currently; A black pair of shark skin and a black pair of ostrich belly. I have had at least one pair of boots for the past 25 years. Here’s the kicker: I don’t like either Country or Western music. If you play it in your car, I will get out. I will leave restaurants that have it on. CMT is a waste of a network as far as I am concerned. I don’t like the hats, buckles or shirts either…just so you know.

2. I am an introverted extrovert. Or is it an extroverted introvert? Either way, I am 50/50 on the idea of meeting new people and I really don’t like crowds (unless they came to see me). It’s actually a pretty interesting dichotomy considering who I am and what I do.

3. My mother used to teach ballet in the basement of our house. So guess who used to take ballet in the basement of our house? Yes. That’s right. ME. I took two years of ballet. In fact I was the lone black sheep in the field of 12 sheep during the recital. For the record I was nine and yes I looked smashing in my tights and leotard.

4. I have a Masters degree in common sense. While I was working on my second major, Communications (my first is Psychology) someone told me that I was trying to get a degree in “Common sense”. I remember pointing out to him how uncommon common sense truly was. He quickly agreed. Three years later EMU handed me a sheepskin that says M.A. and it was in Communications. They also gave me a graduate assistantship. It was kind of cool to get to try out teaching as a career at the college level on someone else’s dime.

5. I love me some little yellow people. I remember sitting in my suitemate’s room watching his TV in December of 1989. It was my first semester of college and the very first airing of a then new show…The Simpson’s. Since that day, I have missed less than 10 airing of first run episodes. When I bartended during college people would be at the bar and have to wait until a commercial to get served. If new people walked in, the regulars filled them in on the rules. Too funny.

6. I would rather work with you than for you. I am not sure why, but I am not that good of an employee. I think I have some issues with authority. I may have to work on that in 2009. And by that I mean making sure I am the authority ;-)

7. I find myself very funny. I am not saying I am the funniest person I know, but I do make myself more than anyone else I know. Perhaps it’s the amount of time I spend with me. Perhaps I just know my humor. I remember someone once saying “you’re kind of funny”.  I told him it was a bonus that he found me funny as my goal is simply to amuse myself. And simply amused I am.

Here are the people I tag:

Drew Sygitt     Brian Eyster     Glenn Moore   Bryan Peckingpaugh      Jared Pomranky      Eric Brown    Les Zaldor

4 Responses to “7 things you may not know about me”


  1. 1 Ken Burbary Thursday, January 1 at 10:07 pm

    Terry – I learned a lot about you that I didn’t know, and will now remember to check your shoes out the next time we meet to make sure you’re living up to urban cowboy standards. You might amuse yourself but you’re pretty darn good at making the rest of us laugh too. Thanks for being a good sport and participating in the meme.

  2. 2 Karen Swim Wednesday, January 7 at 2:50 pm

    Hello and Happy New Year Terry! Okay, this was by far the funniest response to the 7 things meme. I find you funny too but then again I think I’m funny so you may not want to trust my opinion. 🙂

  3. 3 bydgoszcz dobry psychoterapeuta Saturday, May 23 at 9:00 pm

    I’m very happy to discover this site. I wanted to thank you for ones time for this particularly
    fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and i also have
    you saved to fav to look at new stuff in your website.


  1. 1 Seven things you may not know about me! | Zaldors World, Invading your ears Trackback on Sunday, January 4 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

