Should you be using the Twitter Auto-Responder?

Using the auto responder on twitter has been a topic of debate as of late. Seems like the crowd leans more toward not liking than liking it.

I actually like the idea. It’s efficient. It can open a dialog. It tells me a LOT about the person I just followed.

It’s how people use it that I don’t like.

When used properly, twitter is a very effective networking service. Most people who auto respond use text that crams THEIR message down your throat. This is akin to going to an event with a bunch of people who are trying to sell you their product. That’s not good form.

What if you use your auto responder to learn more about your new follower? When I get a message that asks about me I am 60% more likely to respond, than if the message tells me to go check out their blog.

What if your auto responder did both? Yeah, I know, 140 characters isn’t a lot. But you should  be concise anyway. How about a message that said- “how can I help you? Here’s a little about me: blog/website address”. That’s less than 140 characters AND it accomplishes two things:

1. It shows you care about them.
2. It gives them the chance to learn more about you.

It is only when both of these things are accomplished can good networking occur.

Be Connected-

20 Responses to “Should you be using the Twitter Auto-Responder?”


  1. 1 Karen Swim Monday, March 23 at 2:07 pm

    Terry, this is the first balanced opinion I’ve heard about the autoresponder. I completely agree that it is not the tool but how it is used. I have used the auto responder in the past. I auto follow everyone and like to say Hello to people and invite conversation. Doing it manually was not working but I still wanted to be inviting and polite. I never said “Hi, click/buy my junk” but if you read all the bad press about auto responses you missed that it can be used for good. Thanks as always for leading not following, er uh except on Twitter, glad you do both there. 🙂

  2. 2 Adwords Monday, April 6 at 1:14 am

    Isn’t there a way to send an EMAIL autoresponder when people follow you on twitter?

    I think it’s great tool if (like you said) is used to provide support or help in some way.

    Thanks for the tip!

  3. 3 Medical Spa MD Tuesday, April 7 at 3:24 pm

    We’ve been using it and, after some tweaks, have pretty good success with our plastic surgeon and dermatologist target market. You’re correct. It’s ‘what you say’.

  4. 4 Red Leaf Network Thursday, April 30 at 2:53 am

    My followers receive this message – Welcome! You can join the discussion by sending ‘d redleafnetwork msg’ – For the life of me I don’t know where it comes from or how to get rid of it. Twitter Support has never answered my three queries. Does anyone recognize it? Is it a bot I inadvertently signed up with? I need help to remove it. Please and thanks.

  5. 5 bryan Sunday, October 11 at 12:53 pm

    I don’t know very much about bots and what not but try looking to see if Windows Live Messenger or Windows, Yahoo!, or Google chat settings might be configured to send this message? Good Luck.
    Sincerely

    Sympathetic

  6. 6 Ian Tuesday, February 23 at 4:34 pm

    Where is the autoresponder, I can’t see it, but need it?

    Thanks Guys
    Ian

  7. 7 RudolfB Saturday, February 27 at 7:34 am

    Great post! I read it before I was installing an autoresponder, or at least, I was waiting for one to arrive in my mailbox. And indeed I was planning to do the wrong thing. Luckily your post set me right. Thank you very much!

    Does anyone know about this one? http://www.freetwitterautoresponder.com/ It looks like it is just harvesting email addresses and gives you nothing in return. I was a bit hasty and didn’t check out. The site has only 2 pages and his twitter account only shows tweets about the same (perhaps non)existing product?

  8. 8 RudolfB Saturday, February 27 at 8:10 am

    On second thoughts, I just decided not to use an auto responder at all. Too many people seem to be very much against it and I do not want to alienate twitters directly after they follow me.

    When you promote products yourself, you are probably not against receiving auto responders, on the contrary, you can learn from them, but most people see it as spam.

  9. 9 trybean Saturday, February 27 at 1:33 pm

    Ian-

    I use the one from here: http://www.socialoomph.com/

    Terry

  10. 10 trybean Saturday, February 27 at 1:38 pm

    There are people who don’t like it. The key is to compose a message that looks personal or at the very least isn’t promotional. When you do that, and come across as interested in others, they may feel better about following you. But it is all about personal choice.

  11. 11 jual aksesoris motor Sunday, December 16 at 7:08 am

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on
    blogs I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always exciting to read through articles from other writers and practice a little something from other websites.

  12. 12 Terry Bean Sunday, December 16 at 9:29 am

    I’m glad you found it and enjoyed it. Thanks for taking time to comment.

  13. 13 9power Wednesday, February 20 at 6:59 pm

    When someone writes an article he/she maintains the thought
    of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of
    it. So that’s why this paragraph is great. Thanks!

  14. 14 Twitter Tool Friday, March 8 at 6:35 am

    Ahaa, its pleasant discussion concerning this article here at this website,
    I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  15. 15 Elizabeth Thursday, May 2 at 9:15 pm

    I don’t write a comment, however after reading some of the comments on Should you be using the Twitter Auto-Responder? | Meet. Understand. Connect.. I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.

    Is it simply me or does it appear like a few of these comments appear like they are left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other sites, I’d like to follow you. Could you post a list of every one of your social community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  16. 16 finance help Saturday, June 8 at 10:06 pm

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back very soon.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have
    a nice day!

  17. 17 costume jewellry Thursday, July 11 at 5:51 pm

    Excellent blog right here! Also your site a lot up very fast!
    What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link on
    your host? I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  18. 18 kik custom products Wednesday, July 24 at 4:21 pm

    I am genuinely happy to read this webpage posts which includes plenty of valuable
    data, thanks for providing such statistics.

  19. 19 pest control Jacksonville Saturday, July 26 at 9:56 pm

    However, sometimes it’s not always as easy as that, sometimes we
    can’t see the issue until it’s too late, so how can we stop that situation from happening.
    Infestations caused by creatures must not be ignored
    nor overlooked. Today, the scenario is different; ants don’t repel the natural repellent but instead feed on them.

  20. 20 Los Angles car oil change Friday, September 12 at 12:31 am

    What’s up to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are fastidious in favor of new visitors.


Leave a Reply

