A tribute to a great leader, MLK

A break from my networking thoughts, but it still involves our community.

“Early morning, April 4 a shot rings out in a Memphis sky. Free at last. They took your life, they could not take your pride. In the name of love…” – U2 from their 1984 smash hit PRIDE-In the name of love

I’m not sure why I have always had a special place in my heart for Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Maybe it is because he embodied peace? Perhaps it’s because he was a gifted orator. Or simply because he concerned himself with the betterment of our human race. It’s likely the combination of all of those things. I remember having to do a report on a famous American in the 5th grade and it was King I chose. I ended up doing 3 more on him before I graduated.

How relevant is his passing to our area in Detroit? We have a racial divide here STILL. Why is that? Why should we possibly care about the color of a person’s skin? You and I know both know that wonderful people come in all shapes and colors. Guess what, jerks do too.

It matters not what a person looks like on the outside. It’s all about what’s inside that counts. We all know that. Heck, we learned that in kindergarten.

Stephanie just presented a different point of view and suggested maybe its his untimely death that helped spread his legacy. I wonder if that’s true. I know we really haven’t seen a leader like him in the “white, red, black, Hispanic or Asian” community in this country since. Maybe President Obama, time will tell.

What are your thoughts on this? What did MLK and the work he did mean to you?

In an interesting twist of fate Run DMC will be inducted as the first “Rap crew” into the Rock and Roll hall of Fame today. Coincidence?

4 Responses to “A tribute to a great leader, MLK”


  1. 1 http://slimberryblog.com Monday, May 6 at 12:12 am

    Hello, I read your blogs on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is
    witty, keep up the good work!

  2. 2 microsoft points for xbox Wednesday, June 26 at 3:33 am

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely
    appreciate it.

  3. 3 http://blogs.albawaba.com/kevinwillingham Sunday, August 11 at 12:56 am

    It is perfect time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this put
    up and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.

    I wish to learn even more issues about it!

  4. 4 overpast Saturday, March 29 at 12:01 pm

    Your style is very unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.


Leave a Reply

