Why people don’t comment on blogs/posts!?

This is really more of a question than a statement, but since I shall share thoughts on both…

When you take time to read something do you think about what you read or how it applies to you? Maybe it’s both.

In either scenario I would think the resulting thought(s) would be of interest to the author who stimulated it at the very least. It may also also interest others including you 😉

When you read something online where you can add to the conversation, do so. There are lots of ways to add to a conversation and not all of them include agreeing (be respectful when not) with the writer.

Personal Brand/Networking tip– Leave how people can find you when you you post online. Use your website, Linkedin page or other information that will direct them back to you.

Why don’t people do so?

Is it because they weren’t moved by the content?

Are they worried about their writing skills?

Is it they think no one will care about their opinion?

Maybe because it takes time to put together thoughts and we are worried about making an impression.

Whatever the reason, I am sure your responses will be important and right on the money when you share them.

Go ahead and try it now 😉

13 Responses to “Why people don’t comment on blogs/posts!?”


  1. 1 Sarah Worsham Saturday, April 4 at 8:50 pm

    I think there are a lot of reasons why people don’t comment on blogs. Forrester Research has profiled different types of people according to their participation online (http://www.forrester.com/Groundswell/profile_tool.html for more information). Their theory is that different people have different comfort levels when it comes to participating online, from content creators to browsers.

    I think it also depends on how people read your content – if they’re reading your RSS feed or are on a mobile device, it is much more difficult to write a comment.

    I also think that sometimes people feel that they shouldn’t say anything because they’ll look silly or stupid. Since any content that is posted on the web is pretty much around to stay, being intelligent about when and what you say is smart. I just don’t think it’s a reason to stay quiet – that makes it impossible to forge new relationships and networks.

  2. 2 Karen Swim Saturday, April 4 at 9:02 pm

    Terry, it is an excellent question and one I have worked to understand. I have found that those who comment on non-media blogs are typically bloggers. Bloggers not only understand the value of knowing your content is being read but are motivated by the traffic driving strategy. Media blogs attract non-blogging commenters who love the ability to send a digital letter to the editor or opinion piece. Some readers may refrain from commenting because:
    They are not comfortable offering their opinion
    They do not believe they can add to the discussion
    They are not sure how to comment or if it’s okay to do or even if it’s safe (what if they don’t have a website, what will you do with their email)
    They don’t realize the author cares that people comment (they do not see the author interacting with readers in the comments)

    As you can see by my long response, I have none of these issues! 🙂

  3. 3 steve cunningham Monday, April 6 at 3:14 am

    Terry – in addition to what has already been said, a lot of people think that social media is about empire building rather than joining the conversation.

  4. 4 Alice Heiman Monday, April 6 at 3:14 am

    Let’s all do what we can to encourage people to respond to our blogs. I think we need to remind them on each of our postings that they are welcome to respond. I would love to have responses to my postings too http://www.smartsalestips.com

  5. 5 Sam Olson Monday, April 6 at 10:57 am

    Terry, you hit me square between the eyes with this one. I am a serial lurker when it comes to blogs, discussion boards, etc. I’ve never stopped to ask myself why – but you put it in words for me: “Maybe because it takes time to put together thoughts and we are worried about making an impression.”

    So, resolved: I will take the time to put together a thought and quit worrying so much about making an impression. Sarah is right – no reason to stay quiet.

    I’ll try to hold up my end of the conversation!

  6. 6 Sheila Cox Monday, April 6 at 10:03 pm

    I still remember the moment I first published my blog. I was suddenly “out there” and vulnerable! Anyone in the whole world-wide web could read what I said! It takes a while to get past that fear and be willing to express yourself online – ESPECIALLY when you have no idea whether it’s being read. I that that’s why bloggers leave comments: 1) we’re comfortable doing so, and 2) we realize how much it means to people to receive comments.

  7. 7 trybean Monday, April 6 at 10:29 pm

    That’s a riot. My stepmother caught the phrase “online empire” next to my name in Metro mode. It didn’t even phase me, but it is a really peculiar way to look at what we do. If I have an empire, I am sure it will strike back.

  8. 8 trybean Monday, April 6 at 10:30 pm

    I absolutely love your resolution. Do let me know what I can do to support you with it.

  9. 9 trybean Monday, April 6 at 10:31 pm

    I really need to make time to read more blogs. Who do you recommend Shelia? I think Karen Swim offers great insight and can turn a phrase.

  10. 10 trybean Monday, April 6 at 10:35 pm

    It’s interesting that we worry so much some of the time and so little when it matters.

    I got the time changed. I am also trying to change this to not delay comments. Thanks for your suggestions, Sarah.

  11. 11 Karen Swim Tuesday, April 7 at 12:40 pm

    Terry, you are such a fabulous conversation starter. Just popped back in to say I am so thankful for the awesome people I’ve met through MCC with you topping that list. 🙂

    P.S. To find great blogs in your area of interest check out Alltop.com.

  12. 12 Free Sales Training Monday, June 29 at 2:12 am

    Interaction on our blogs is our best “social networking” we can do. Thanks for the great posts.
    Chris

  13. 13 New York City Rape Lawyer or New York City Murder Lawyer or New York City Wednesday, July 22 at 3:12 pm

    I also dont understand why other bloggers do not help out others who also take the time to post interesting blogs. if we knocked of all the spam maybe people wouldnt mind posting a few more comments here and there. but just knowing that some one is gonna take the time to read what you have to say is a great feeling a feeling of accomplishment.


Leave a Reply

