My 7 takeaways #module09 Detroit

Someone else may know better (and correct me if I am wrong) but I have to think that was today’s event had to be the biggest Social Media conference to hit the D yet. You start with an awesome speaker line up that included Chris Brogan Scott Monty of Ford and the ever popular Shannon Paul. I would keep going, but this is already 4 hyperlinks more than I generally provide 😉

Just finished writing and need to give a shout out to Adriann Pittman for putting together a bang up program. Thank you!

1. First you need to take time to listen to what others are saying about you and your brand. Everybody talked about it. This is slightly different than my ideology of “Being interested prior to being interesting“, but not much. When you understand what others issues are, you can better direct your efforts toward reaching them.

2. That you need to understand the WHY of it all. So many people think they need to be doing this and just start. It doesn’t help that there are lots of consultants telling people they need to “Join the conversation” (@chrisbrogan is not a fan of this advice). While you will need to, you’re better off knowing why and then getting some help on the “how”.

3. That you had better get the different departments on board. This is not just a marketing thing. Multiple areas of your organization- Marketing, Legal, Tech, H.R. Ops., R&D and Customer Servicel ALL can receive and add value to the process. And in doing so, they add value to your brand.

4. Measuring ROI from Social Media is like looking at a kaleidoscope and counting the colors while you spin it. While you can count it, there is a compounding factor that makes it tough to do it reliably. Interestingly, the impact is usually greater than you think…OVER TIME.

5. Only 25% of the fortune something or other has spent more than $100k on Social Media. I am pretty sure that stat came from Oz Sultan (my personal favorite of the day- Scott Monty was a close 2nd). This tells me a couple of things: A. There will be a lot of change in the near future and I mean “change’ in both the opportunity and monetary sense. B. That either companies don’t recognize the need to do it yet or are appointing internal folks to handle it. I wonder how that is working for them??

6. These tools are just that…tools. Interestingly, some of the people who use them are tools (I believe it is spelled and pronounced douchebaggery) as well.  It’s pretty easy to separate yourself though. Make this a part of your culture. Work on your awesomeness and be delightful. And then use these tools to demonstrate by being helpful, engaging, caring and all of those other great human characteristics we sometimes forget we possess.

7. My favorite was that egos were checked at the door of this event. It wasn’t really about the tools, the technology or the presenters, it was about the people. No, not just the people in the audience. All people.  It was about showing ways to be more human through the use of technology. I heard lots of references to connecting humans with a brand and how important human to human interaction still is. Picking up a phone was mentioned as one way to stay in touch as was meeting face to face. I do love that real world interaction.

In reality, I had a blast as the emcee of Module today. I was blessed to have been surrounded by some of the most talented people in Detroit AND in Social Media. We had great space, content and passion. For what more could one possibly seek? It truly was a good Friday.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the day/event.

4 Responses to “My 7 takeaways #module09 Detroit”


  1. 1 David Benjamin Saturday, April 11 at 12:28 am

    Terry,

    I have to agree that today’s conference was a hit.

    My take away is this: There are new tools that can help assist in networking, talking with our clients, listening to what they want, and when possible delivering on those requests.

    It still comes back to the old principles. Work hard, care about those around you, make the community a better place for all and be thankful for what you have.

  2. 2 Jamie Favreau Saturday, April 11 at 12:57 am

    I loved the conference, learned and connected with a lot of good people.

    I love the fact Jeremy Tanner stressed how important the cell phone was and how we should use it. They also stressed the digital divide and how in some countries the cell phone might be the first generation of computer literacy some countries have.

    Remember to talk and have face to face contact as well. Scott Monty stressed it almost as much as the human aspect of this. Don’t forget the old values but use the new ones to generate new ones.

    I loved it! Thanks Adrian! Don’t forget to keep up with Module 09 expect Module 10!! 🙂

  3. 3 DaveMurr Saturday, April 11 at 11:35 am

    I left Michigan in ’98 and moved back last October. I am blow away at the amount of talent that is here in MI.

    It was great to see some new faces. This shows that we penetrating our inner circle and reaching beyond.

    Module09 was, to me, a stepping stone to bigger and better things this state can and will be a part of. Its exciting to see this happen.

  4. 4 Shannon Paul Sunday, April 12 at 11:44 am

    Be delightful? Who the hell said that? Only kidding. Thanks so much for moderating. You did a fantastic job by the way. Plus, who else would have been so creative with the speaker bios? Mine was hyperbole to the extreme, but I forgive you. 😉

    I loved seeing so many people come out for this event and I think next year will be even better.


Leave a Reply

