The poem I read at my father’s funeral service

I had been asked a few times to share this. What better way then to post it here I suppose. I read this pretty much as it’s written. Needless to say some of the points in here were more specific to the audience at the service than to many of you. People laughed. People cried. Most importantly, people were reminded of reasons to appreciate the wonderful man my father was. I love you dad!!!

Image

A life in the life of Gary Bean

 

You were born into tough times in 1937

And 75 years later you arrive at the pearly gates of heaven

 

From my understanding your dad left you when you were only six

Raised with your baby sister by a single mom, you had to grow up quick.

 

I heard you played pond hockey and to cover your shins you used telephone books

Boy oh boy I bet you get more than your share of funny looks

 

I know that baseball was your other sport and you were a stud on the mound

You won the first game in Cody High School history. That’s a record they can never take down

 

There is so much proof that you’ve always had an eye for design

Be it Hudson’s windows, Customer’s offices or the amazing art you always did find

 

You built a strong reputation as someone who got things done

Pretty impressive for a guy who always knew how to have a lot of fun

 

You played tennis, hockey, softball, golf and were always ready to drive the boat

You would have been a better golfer if they made balls that could actually float

 

You were married once, then again and one more time just to do it right

I love all of your wives and I think this last one is out of sight.

 

Your first two children had names that rhymed with Gary

I still think you could have named the other two Mary and Perry

 

Cary, Terry, Daryl and Ryan all learned so much from you

We will always sense your pride in whatever we do

 

It doesn’t just stop with children you know

The grandchildren are here and they are on the grow

 

You’ve got cousins, colleagues and way more than one friend

They all came to celebrate you and not to reflect on your end

 

You were truly a wise-man with no shortage of wit

Like my bumper sticker said, you were born to bullshit

 

We all love you GBEAN to move on we shall endeavor

I wish you peace and comfort for now and forever

My family had requested that people interested in showing their support and love of Gary Bean, due so by making a donation to the Detroit Institute of Arts. He loved art and that museum. To date over $3300.00 has been donated in his honor. 

1 Response to “The poem I read at my father’s funeral service”


  1. 1 webpage Friday, July 19 at 6:34 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic site!


Leave a Reply

