Oct. 4 must be a great day for tear downs

Exactly one year ago I skipped out of my then bosses office as he told me the “bad” news. I could hear how irritated he was at my jubilation as I rapidly left his space. It’s worth noting that I could hear him even though I am a very loud skipper.

Today’s tear down was quite a bit different. We had a group of us show up at Blight busters. and make a difference here in our Detroit by tearing down a badly burned and abandoned house. I think it very important to note: I don’t care from where you are, this goes for you too America, we all need a stronger Detroit. We all need to take part in making it stronger too. The greatest things start with the smallest of efforts.

It’s wonderful to be a part of something that you can feel making a difference as you do it. I think it makes the subsequent highs from it that much better.

We had about 18 people from www.motorcityconnect.com pair up with about the same amount from www.quickenloans.com.  I have been to three different days at blightbusters in the past 6 months and although this was the smallest crew, we knocked out much more in a shorter time.  Axes and sledgehammers were wielded with precision, wood was slivered and the dust flew. It was interesting to have first hand experience with just how much trash and broken down house debris can fit into a small dump truck.

The best part about it was the connections we made. I think all participants bonded with others, gained a better sense of self and were touched by the spirit of Detroit. The energy we shared, as tired and worn out as we were, was pure. It was very empowering.

I am very proud of the members who showed up. They represented what is so great about MCC. It was also cool to work with the guys from Quicken. BTW, I am looking for Steve. He’s in I.T. for Quicken and he likely works in Livonia, MI. Good guy.

Be Connected-

Terry

5 Responses to “Oct. 4 must be a great day for tear downs”


  1. 1 Charlie Wollborg Sunday, October 5 at 3:20 am

    You can learn more about the cool folks from Quicken from there community service blog at http://www.whatsthediff.com/

  2. 2 Pat Williams Sunday, October 5 at 4:26 am

    Thanks Terry for a great time today, I’m very happy you organized and that I decided to take part. I wasn’t sure how my 13 year old would feel about helping when he’d rather be playing video games or hanging with his friends. He pitched in and worked harder than I expected him to. We talked about the work he did while we drove home and the sense of accomplishment shining in his face was obvious… even through the black soot. He was part of something and felt he made a difference – exactly the kind of highs I want my teenager exposed to. Thank you for offering that him that opportunity!

  3. 3 trybean Sunday, October 5 at 1:26 pm

    And thank you for allowing him to pitch in!

  4. 4 Stephen Boyle Thursday, October 23 at 3:35 pm

    I’ve been around the community at Artists Village and BlightBusters. They are extending their reach, working with youth and offering them shining examples of a purpose-filled life. While I was unable to make the tear-down on Oct 4 due to simply an overwhelm of activity preparing for an event which is short on active people making it happen. I would have loved to have been there. I know the critical factor in networking is to simply show up. Eventually that will happen, even if it is for a fast moment.


  1. 1 Not My Typical Weekend : RealHomeSense Trackback on Monday, October 6 at 1:43 am

Leave a comment